tm@bkip.com.hk   (852) 3105 5120 Our Location
200-125dumps 100-105dumps 210-260dumps 300-115dumps 200-105dumps 300-101dumps 200-310dumps 210-060dumps 200-355dumps 640-911dumps 300-075dumps 300-208dumps 300-070dumps 300-360dumps 642-998dumps QV_DEVELOPER_01dumps 400-101dumps 210-451dumps 700-501dumps 400-051dumps 117-201exam 070-243exam 70-696dump 648-244dumps 500-005dumps 640-875dumps 700-505

About Our Trade Mark Services

Our commitment is to “do our best for our clients”. Since the establishment of our team in 1998, there have been over 4000 successful cases, including applications for registration of trade mark, oppositions, revocations, etc.

Our team is led by our Senior Partner and professional and experienced practitioners, aiming to provide accurate and timely services to our clients. The routine work of our team includes:-

   Conducting trade mark search

   Providing pre-registration advice

   Filing trade mark application

   Advising examiner’s report and responding thereto

   Handling opposition to application of trade mark

   Renewing registered trade mark

In order to provide efficient management to our clients, our team, watch & enforcement team and litigations team work together to provide relevant services to our clients, including investigation of infringment activities, analysis of trade mark infringement, issue of cease and desist letters, prosecution of infringers, etc..

Registration and Protection of Trademarks

Trademarks

Trademarks mean any signs which can distinguish a corporation’s product or service from other corporations’ products and designs, and which can be expressed in writing or by drawings. Registered trademarks are trademarks approved for registration by the Trademarks Registry.

Registered trademarks first need to state the product or service in which its trademark is to be registered according to the International Goods and Services Classification “Nice Classification”, and then fill in the relevant forms and submit to the Trademarks Registry for registration. Undoubtedly, applicants can handle these via an experienced solicitors’ firm.

Territorial Protection

When a trademark is registered, the applicant would receive the trademark’s exclusive use right, and be protected by the law. Any corporation or individual using the registered trademark or a similar trademark without your consent would infringe your rights, the owner can take legal actions against the infringer to stop all infringement and even to get compensation for any economic loss.

Trademarks are strictly territorial, registered trademarks can only be protected by the law of the countries or territories that it has been registered into. In other words, if your trademark has been registered in places other than Hong Kong (even in the Trademark Office of the State), your trademark would not be protected in Hong Kong, to receive protection in Hong Kong, your trademark must be registered according to the Trademarks Ordinance Cap. 559.

Application of Trademark Registration

There are four stages for registering a trademark:

  • Format review
  • Substantive examination
  • Publication
  • Issue of Trademark Registration Certificate

 

Stage 1: Format Review

After the trademark registrant has submitted the application, the Trademark Registry would verify all the information provided are correct: including registrant’s name and address, drawing of the trademark, the goods and/or service. If the information is incomplete or incorrect, the Trademark Registry would send to the registrant a “Deficiency Notice”. The applicant must supplement the information and correct all the incorrect information within 2 months after the issuing date of the “Deficiency Notice”.

When the information is complete, the Trademarks Registry would perform a substantive examination: check the record of the previously registered trademarks, to see if there is anyone else who have registered or applied for registering the same or similar goods or service trademark.

If the examination is passed, the application procedure would move to the next stage.

Stage 2: Actual Examination

After Stage 1 has been completed, the Trademarks Registry will examine if the trademark under application complies with the “Trademarks Ordinance” and the “Trademarks Regulations”. This stage of examination is to check whether your trademark is distinguishable from other trademarks, in other words if your trademark has its “distinctiveness”.

If the trademark is only the description of a product or a service, or it just reflects the quality, functions, quantity or value of a company and its service, e.g. “First-class” in “First-class Service”, the Trademarks Registry would raise objection. Similarly, for trademarks using geographic names, because geographic names are commonly used by the public, they lack distinctiveness, therefore under normal circumstances, the Trademarks Registry would not allow them to be registered.

If the examination has not been passed, the Trademarks Registry would issue a notice, explaining why the trademarks could not satisfy the requirements for registration, and the applicant can amend or change in three months time. If the applicant still cannot satisfy the requirements after amending or making changes, the Trademarks Registry will issue a further notice, clarifying the results of the examination, the applicant can within three months after receiving the notice satisfy the requirements or request for a hearing.

Stage 3: Publication

After the Trademarks Registry has approved the application, it will publish this in the Hong Kong Intellectual Property Gazette, for three months. Within the publication period, anyone can object the registration, the applicant can also counter-object to that objection. Both the applicant and the opponent can produce evidence within a time frame. After the Trademarks Registry has received all the evidence, it will make arrangement for hearing, and the hearing officers will make decisions.

If within the publication period no one objects to the application, the trademark would successfully be registered.

Stage 4: Issuing Certificate of Registration for Trademark

After the application has passed the examination and no one objects to it during the three month publication, the Trademarks Registry will record the details of the trademark into the Registry’s register, and issue a Certificate of Registration to the applicant.

It takes six months to go through all the process for registering a trademark.

Friendly Reminders

You can take the following strategies to protect your trademarks:

  1. Register the trademark in different countries and territories. Especially in areas where the company actively develops in.
  2. Register both Chinese and English versions of the trademark. This can enhance the attractiveness of the trademark and enlarge the area of protection for the trademark.
  3. Register the trademark as soon as possible.
  4. Browse the online Intellectual Property Gazette, check if anyone’s registration application in Hong Kong would cause confusion to the public against your registered trademark.
  5. If anyone infringes your trademark in Hong Kong, you can report to the Hong Kong Customs and Excise or consult professions.

If you need further assistance or information, please contact our firm’s Trademarks Registration Department.

Total Views: 20881 Today Views: 3

tm@bkip.com.hk   (852) 3105 5120 我們的位置
200-125dumps 100-105dumps 210-260dumps 300-115dumps 200-105dumps 300-101dumps 200-310dumps 210-060dumps 200-355dumps 640-911dumps 300-075dumps 300-208dumps 300-070dumps 300-360dumps 642-998dumps QV_DEVELOPER_01dumps 400-101dumps 210-451dumps 700-501dumps 400-051dumps 117-201exam 070-243exam 70-696dump 648-244dumps 500-005dumps 640-875dumps 700-505

關於我們的商標服務

我們致力為客戶提供最好的服務。自成立於1998年,我們的團隊成功完成超過4000多個個案,包括申請商標註冊、反對商標申請、取消商標申請等。

我們的專業及有豐富經驗的法律行政人員由資深合夥人江炳滔律師帶領下,為客戶提供準確和快捷的服務。我們的日常工作包括:-

  商標檢索

  在申請商標前提供法律意見

  申請商標註冊

  閱讀及為審查主任報告提供法律意見及書面回應

  處理對有關商標申請的反對

  為已註冊的商標續期

為了有效地管理客戶的知識產權,我們的監察及執行組和訴訟組經常緊密合作,為客戶提供優質的服務,包括調查侵權者的侵權行為、分析商標侵權、發出警告信、檢控侵權者等。


商標的註冊及保護


商標


商標是指任何能將某一企業的貨品或服務與其他企業的貨品或服務識別出來,並能借書寫或繪圖方式表述的標志。註冊商標是指經商標註冊處核准註冊的商標。註冊商標需按國際商品及服務分類《尼斯分類》列明申請商標所要註冊的商品或服務類別,然後填妥相關表格到商標註冊處進行註冊。當然,申請人也可通過有經驗的律師事務所幫忙處理。


地域性保護


商標一經註冊,申請人便擁有該商標的專用權,受到法律的保護。任何企業或個人未經你的同意在商業用途中使用該註冊商標或類似的商標均屬侵權行為,擁有人可采取法律行動要求侵權者停止侵權行為甚至賠償經濟損失。

商標權具有嚴格的地域性,註冊商標僅在其註冊的國家或地區受到相應的法律保護。也就是說如果你的商標在除香港以外的地方(即使是國家商標局)進行註冊,那麽在香港,你的商標是不會得到保護的,要想你的商標在香港得到保護,必須根據商標條例第559章在香港進行註冊。


申請註冊商標


註冊商標可分為以下四個階段:

  • 形式審查
  • 實質審查
  • 公告
  • 發放商標註冊證明書

 

第一階段:形式審查

商標註冊人提交註冊申請後,商標註冊處會核對申請資料是否正確:包括申請人的姓名或名稱和地址、商標的圖示、商品及/或服務。如果資料不完整或不正確,商標註冊處會向申請人發出“不足之處通知書”。申請人需要在“不足之處通知書”發出之日起兩個月內對不完整的資料進行補充及對不正確的資料進行改正。

當資料完整後,商標註冊處會做一個實質性的審查:審查之前的商標記錄,看是否有其他人已經註冊或申請註冊相同或相類似的商品或服務的商標。

如審核通過,申請程序將進入下一階段。

第二階段:實質審查

第一階段完成後,商標註冊局會對申請的商標是否符合《商標條例》及《商標規則》的規定作出審查。這一階段的審查是看你申請註冊的商標能否與其他商標區別出來,也就是審查你的商標是否有“顯著性”。

如果商標只是一個商品或是一種服務的描述,或只顯示商標及服務的質素、用途、數量或價值,例如“一流的服務”中的“一流”,商標註冊處則會提出反對。同樣,使用地理名稱的商標,因為地名是社會通用名稱,缺乏顯著性,所以一般情況下,商標註冊處不會給予註冊。除此之外,使用商品的通用名稱、圖形、型號等均不能作為商標註冊。

若果審查未通過,商標註冊處會發出一份通知書,解釋為何有關商標申請未能符合規定註冊,申請人可在三個月內對此進行修訂或更改。若果申請人修訂或更改後仍未能符合註冊規定,商標註冊處便會發放出進一步通知書,說明審查結果,申請人則可以在發出通知書之日起三個月內達致註冊規定或要求聆迅。

第三階段:公告

商標註冊處核准申請後,便會在香港知識產權公報公告,為期三個月。在商標公告期內,任何人均可以對商標註冊申請提出反對,申請人也可以就反對註冊提交反陳述。申請人及反對人均有機會在指定時限內就申請註冊或反對註冊提交證據。商標註冊處收到所有證據後,便會安排雙方出席聆訊,並由聆迅人員作出裁決。

如在商標公告期內無人提出異議,該商標就可以成功註冊。

第四階段:發放商標註冊證明書

當申請通過審核並在三個月公告期內無人反對後,商標註冊處便會把該商標的詳細資料記入註冊紀錄冊,並向申請人發出註冊證明書。

註冊一個商標的整個過程需時約六個月。


溫馨提示


你可以采取以下策略來保護你的商標:

  1. 把商標在不同的國家和地區進行註冊,特別是公司的業務發展的區域。
  2. 同時把商標的中英文版本註冊,這樣可以增加商標的吸引力及擴大商標的保護範圍。
  3. 盡早為你的商標註冊。
  4. 瀏覽網上的知識產權公報,以查看是否有其他人士在香港申請註冊可能導致公眾對你的註冊商標引起混淆的商標。
  5. 如果有人在香港侵犯你的註冊商標,你可向香港海關舉報或征求專業人士的意見。

如需協助或索取進一點資料,请向本所商標註册部门查询。

總瀏覽人數: 13995 今日瀏覽人數: 1